Simple Crocheted Headband

My mother and grandmother taught me how to knit when I was really young.  I can’t remember how young, but the first thing I made was a blanket for my doll, so that should give you some idea!  My mother and my other grandmother taught me how to sew.  My first project was a drawstring bag with pig fabric.  I still use that bag (20-ish years later!)  to hold toiletries on camping trips!  All three of them along with my dad taught me how to cook and bake.  All this domestic training and not a single one of them taught me how to crochet!  I did inherit several crochet hooks from my knitting grandmother, but I don’t remember ever seeing her crochet.  The point is, I felt the need to teach myself.

At some point when I was a kid, I taught myself how to crochet a chain.  I was pretty proud of myself at the time, but chains aren’t particularly difficult or interesting by themselves.  Lion Brand Yarn has some excellent videos for the crochet beginner.  I just started crocheting a few rows and thought it was so easy I couldn’t stop!  I decided to turn my practice project into a headband.

Note: Ignore the wet hair in the picture above.  I was headed out the door and wanted to catch Husband to take the photo while he was actually home.  Yes, I do leave the house with wet hair…blow dryers are too much of a bother!  Also, I realize my headband isn’t perfect, but keep in mind that it is my very first attempt!

Materials needed:

  • Worsted weight yarn (scrap yarn works because this really doesn’t use much yarn)
  • H crochet hook
  • 2 buttons (mine are about 1/2″ diameter)
  • Sewing needle and thread
  • Yarn needle
  • Scissors

Instructions:

  1. Start with a chain of about 8 stitches.  I’m not sure if they are technically called stitches, but I’m a beginner, so that is what I will call them.
  2. Single crochet rows until the headband is as long as you want it to be.  I made mine a little loose because I hate when headbands pop off the back of my head.  Am I the only one that has this problem?  Also, no hair wedgies with a loose headband!
  3. Add 2 button holes with one row between them.  I didn’t bother researching the proper way to create a button hole, so you may want to do this or you can follow my directions.  It’s pretty easy!  Since I started with 8 stitches, I single crocheted the first three stitches, chained the next two, and single crocheted the last three.  Single crochet the next row as usual.  This should leave a hole in your headband just large enough for a button.  You may need to adjust the size of the hole based on the size of your buttons.  Repeat this process for the second button hole.
  4. End your headband with one last single crochet row.
  5. Use the yarn needle to weave the loose ends into the headband.
  6. Line your buttons up on the opposite end of the headband from the button holes.  Sew in place.
  7. Enjoy life without hair in your face!  This is a major priority for me!

Linking up here:

Anything Related

2 Comments

Filed under Babies/Kids, Clothing, Yarn

2 responses to “Simple Crocheted Headband

  1. Super cool! I don’t know how to crochet but this project is small enough that it would be great for a beginner like myself. Love the added buttons as well. Thanks so much for linking up to Terrific Under Ten!

  2. Looks great! I can’t believe you taught yourself…that rocks! Thanks so much for linking up to Try it Tuesday at DotDotDot! Have a Happy Monday!
    Tasha

Leave a Reply

